Hennessy Literary Awards 2015

This week we announced the winners of this year’s Hennessy Literary Awards at a prestigious ceremony in the impressive surrounds of the Banking Hall of The Westin Dublin. For the last 44 years, the Hennessy Literary Awards has recognised and rewarded emerging Irish writers and poets in the literary sphere. Amid incredibly talented finalists were the deserving winners Henrietta McKervey (First Fiction), Sara Baume (Emerging Fiction) and Simon Lewis (Emerging Poetry). Since 2003, the Hennessy Literary Awards have also celebrated the success and achievements of established Irish writers by inducting one eminent writer each year into the Hennessy Literary Awards Hall of Fame. This year was no exception with Paula Meehan welcomed as the 13th key figure from the Irish literary world inducted. A host of specially invited guests from the worlds of literature and the arts enjoyed the writing of some of Ireland’s brightest new authors and poets with delicious Hennessy cocktails and canapés served. This year’s Hennessy Literary Awards marks one of many key events taking place in 2015 to celebrate anniversary.